RSS

Daily Archives: May 27, 2012

A Fun and Relaxing Weekend of Golf!

With all the pressure, seriousness, and stress that goes with playing college golf I think I had forgotten why I really love playing golf and why I still play. At times this year I viewed golf more as a job than as a fun game. And because of this I didn’t play as well as I would have hoped.

This weekend I was reminded why I love golf. I played the last 3 days at my home club, Birmingham CC, and loved every minute of it. No pressure, no coaches, just playing and having fun.

Friday night I played with two of my best friends, who I’ve played with since I was 11. We went out at 6:30, played 18 holes, had a couple beers, placed a few wagers (which I ended up losing) and just had a good time. We weren’t really focused on how we were playing, we just enjoyed each other’s company.

Today I played with my lil bro Jason who’s 16 and his friend. We only played nine hole and kinda goofed around on the course. It was a great time and I actually played really well.

For the first time in a while I really enjoyed being out on the course and playing. I enjoyed the great weather and good company. I ended up playing well because I wasn’t putting any pressure on myself. I needed a weekend like this to remind myself to not get too serious about golf and enjoy it for what it is… a game!

Birmingham CC

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Uncategorized