RSS

Living in a Frat House Part 1: The Mud Bowl

24 May

My house. I lived on the third floor above the deck

Yes, I am in a frat. I know there are a lot of students out there who hate the Greek system. I thinks that’s because they only see certain aspects of the Greek life community, but whatever that’s a topic for another post. Anyways, don’t worry I’m not your stereotypical frat jerkoff.

This is the first post in a series that will document my year living in a fraternity house. It was awesome and I had a great time but one year was enough! There were 25 other guys living in the house and there were pretty much no rules. A recipe for chaos that’s for sure!

Every fall my fraternity, SAE, hosts whats called the Mud Bowl. Its an annual football game played in our back yard that has been a tradition for the last 79 years. Last year the event raised over $30,000 for Mott’s Children’s Hospital! Awesome stuff!

The green lawn seen in the picture above is becomes completely mud, see below. The Fire Department of Ann Arbor supplies 10,000 gallons of water to create the playing field.The game, a two-hand touch game except full contact everywhere else, usually takes place on Homecoming weekend but sometimes is pushed back because of scheduling conflicts. I played in the game when I was a sophomore, but couldn’t participate this year because of golf. Below are some pictures. Here is the link to an article about the tradition of the game and here is a link to a full photo album.

Mud Bowl

Yeah, sorority girls play at halftime.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Living in a Frat House Part 1: The Mud Bowl

  1. Regina

    May 27, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    I didn’t know you were in a fraternity– especially the one with the house on South U! My sister came to visit and even took a picture of your house because it is nothing like the frats at Yale (very small, town houses). Do you enjoy living in your frat house? Would you live in it again next year?

     
  2. malessi12

    May 29, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Yes I really liked but I don’t think I would live in it for another year just because it got crazy at times. I’m living in an apartment right now and it’s nice to have a change of scenery

     

Leave a Reply

 
